Liposuction

Lipoedema is a disease that causes extreme physical and psychological stress. In order to save patients years of suffering, the available options should be used to correctly diagnose lipoedema and initiate therapy. Weight loss can have a positive effect on the symptoms typical of lipoedema. But it cannot eliminate them.
Due to its effectiveness and long-lasting results, the surgical removal of adipose tissue together with combined physical decongestion therapy (compression therapy, possibly also manual lymph drainage) is an essential part of the treatment of lipoedema.

While the conservative method of combined physical decongestion therapy (manual lymphatic drainage and compression garment) is able to reduce swelling or orthostatic oedemas and improve the tenderness of the tissue, liposuction is used to reduce the fat tissue and regain normal body proportions. Additionally it also improves the symptoms typical of lipoedema enormously. But it can’t eliminate it completely.
However, liposuction can greatly improve the quality of life of a patient so that it is almost possible to lead a symptomless life (Fig. 1).

Initial situationAfter liposuction of 9200ml in three sessionsFig. 1: 39-year-old patient: a. initial situation, b. after liposuction of 9200ml in three sessions

Our technique: local tumescent anesthesia and vibration-assisted liposuction (PAL)

There are a number of different liposuction techniques, such as laser, radio frequency and ultrasound-assisted liposuction.
But since the introduction of tumescent local anesthesia (TLA) and vibration liposuction (PAL) as well as water-jet assisted liposuction (WAL), these techniques have become the first choice methods. Both of them operate with vibrating blunt suction cannulas and make liposuction less risky for the patient and much gentler on the tissue and lymphatic vessels. At the Hanse-Klinik we work with vibration liposuction (PAL: "power assisted liposuction").

Tumescent local anesthesia (TLA) is a form of local anesthesia in which the subcutaneous fatty tissue is filled with large amounts of a diluted anesthetic solution. The Latin word for swelling “tumescere” refers to the plump appearance of the region filled with solution, which is typical for the method.
The infiltration phase lasts about 45 minutes, followed by a 30-minute break. The duration of the suction process itself is averagely between 90 and 150 minutes, depending on the size of the area. Before the operation, the involved areas are marked and photographed (Fig. 2). General anesthesia is not required for liposuction.

Preoperative marked suction areasPreoperative marked suction areas
Fig. 2: Preoperative marked suction areas

Stumpfe Absaugkanülen
Abb. 3: Blunt suction cannulas

The subsequently achieved high tissue pressure causes the fatty tissue to loosen. Thanks to this “plasticizer effect”, thin (3-4 mm) and at the front blunt suction probes (Fig.3) with small openings on the side can be used. With vibration liposuction, the vibrating suction probe slides past the connective tissue structures without sucking them into the cannula. This significantly reduces the shearing forces and ensures that the fatty tissue that has been “loosened” by the tumescent local anesthetic solution can reach the cannulas more easily. This enables a largely gentle procedure in which the connective tissue support structure of the subcutaneous fatty tissue is preserved.

The edges of the wounds are not sewn, but rather covered with a liquid-permeable plaster. In the first few hours directly after the operation most of the tumescent local anesthesia remaining in the tissue, flows through the skin incisions and is absorbed by the bandages under the compression garment. The remaining amount of fluid drains off within the next 2-5 days. The compression garment must be worn for at least another 4 weeks after the operation. Furthermore, the postoperative manual lymph drainage supports the drainage and reduces the tendency to swell.

The main reason to use this method for liposuction in lipoedema is that it is particularly gentle on the lymphatic vessels and thus the lymphatic drainage continues to be guaranteed after the operation. In addition, the organism is not additionally stressed by general anesthesia. The patient can stand up again immediately after the operation so that the result can be assessed while standing. Not only will the tumescent solution begin to flow through the lowest located incision, but the surgeon can assess the new body silhouette and make corrections if necessary. Already the next morning you can see a clear difference to the initial condition (Fig. 4).

29-year-old female patient the next morning after liposuction of the outer thighs, the inner thighs and the inner knees29-year-old female patient the next morning after liposuction of the outer thighs, the inner thighs and the inner knees
Abb. 4: 29-year-old female patient the next morning after liposuction of the outer thighs, the inner thighs and the inner knees

This method offers many advantages. Due to the very small incisions, there is little intraoperative bleeding and few postoperative hematomas. Due to the wash-out effect of the TLA solution, hardly any bacteria can enter and the risk of infection is very reduced. The antithrombotic effect of the TLA and the immediate postoperative mobilization the risk of thrombosis is greatly reduced. In summary, it can be said that the general complication rate is very low with this method.

Share this site:

This site works with the Shariff plugin. For more information please read the privacy policy.

Liposuktion

Das Lipödem ist eine Erkrankung, die bei den betroffenen Frauen extremen physischen und psychischen Stress verursacht. Um ihnen jahrelanges Leiden zu ersparen, sollten die verfügbaren Möglichkeiten genutzt werden, um das Lipödem richtig zu diagnostizieren und die Therapie einzuleiten. Gewichtsverlust kann die für Lipödeme typischen Beschwerden positiv beeinflussen. Es kann sie jedoch nicht beseitigen.
Aufgrund seiner Wirksamkeit und lang anhaltenden Ergebnisse ist die operative Entfernung von Fettgewebe zusammen mit der kombinierten physikalischen Entstauungstherapie (wichtig ist die Kompressionstherapie, ggf. auch die manuelle Lymphdrainage) ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der Behandlung von Lipödemen.

Während die konservative Methode der kombinierten physikalischen Entstauungstherapie (manuelle Lymphdrainage und Kompressionsmieder) in der Lage ist, die ggf. vorhandenen Schwellungen bzw. orthostatischen Ödeme zu reduzieren sowie die Druckschmerzhaftigkeit des Gewebes zu verbessern, dient die Liposuktion der Reduktion des Fettgewebes und der Wiederherstellung normaler Körperproportionen. Dadurch wird zusätzlich eine Verbesserung der lipödemtypischen Beschwerden erreicht- eine vollständige Heilung ist jedoch nicht möglich. Die Liposuktion kann jedoch die Lebensqualität eines Patienten enorm verbessern, so dass ein fast symptomfreies Leben geführt werden kann (Abb.1).

AusgangssituationNach Fettabsaugung von 9200ml in drei SitzungenAbb. 1: 39-jährige Patientin: a. Ausgangssituation, b.nach Fettabsaugung von 9200ml in drei Sitzungen

Unsere Technik: Tumeszenz-Lokalanästhesie und vibrationsassistierte Liposuktion

Es existieren eine Reihe unterschiedlicher Techniken der Liposuktion, wie z.B. die laser-, die radiofrequenz- und die ultraschallassistierte Liposuktion.
Den größten Stellenwert in der medizinischen Liposuktion haben aber durch die Einführung der Tumeszenz-Lokalanästhesie (TLA) die Vibrationsliposuktion (PAL) unter Verwendung von vibrierenden stumpfen Absaugkanülen sowie die wasserstrahlassistierte Liposuktion (WAL). Durch diese Techniken ist die Liposuktion für den Patienten risikoärmer und für das Gewebe und die Lymphgefäße wesentlich schonender geworden. In der Hanse-Klinik wenden wir die Vibrationsliposuktion (PAL: „power assisted liposuction“) an.

Die Tumeszenz-Lokalanästhesie (TLA) ist eine Form der örtliche Betäubung, bei der das Unterhautfettgewebe mit großen Mengen einer verdünnten Betäubungslösung aufgefüllt wird. Diese wird bei beiden Techniken verwendet. Das lateinische Wort für Anschwellen „tumescere” bezieht sich auf das für die Methode typische pralle Erscheinungsbild der mit Lösung aufgefüllten Region.
Vor der Operation werden die zu behandelnden Areale markiert und fotografiert (Abb.2). Eine Vollnarkose ist für die Liposuktion nicht erforderlich.
Die Infiltrationsphase dauert etwa 45 Minuten, gefolgt von einer 30-minütigen Pause. Die Dauer des Absaugvorganges selbst beträgt je nach Größe des Befundes im Durchschnitt zwischen 90 und 150 Minuten.

Präoperative gekennzeichnete AbsaugarealePräoperative gekennzeichnete Absaugareale
Abb. 2: Präoperative gekennzeichnete Absaugareale

Stumpfe Absaugkanülen
Abb. 3: Stumpfe Absaugkanülen

Der durch das Auffüllen mit TLA erreichte hohe Gewebedruckes bewirkt eine Lockerung des Fettgewebes. Durch diesen „Weichmachereffekt“ können dünne (3-4 mm) und vorne stumpfe Absaugsonden (Abb.3) mit kleinen, seitlich angebrachten Öffnungen eingesetzt werden. Bei der Vibrationsliposuktion gleitet die vibrierende Absaugsonde an den Bindegewebsstrukturen vorbei, ohne dass diese in die Kanüle eingesogen werden. Damit werden die Scherkräfte deutlich verringert und dass durch die Tumeszenz-Lokalanästhesie-Lösung „gelockerte“ Fettgewebe gelangt besser in die Kanülen. Dadurch wird ein weitgehend schonendes Vorgehen ermöglicht, bei dem das bindegewebige Stützgerüst des Unterhautfettgewebes erhalten bleibt.

Die Wundränder werden nicht genäht, sondern mit einem flüssigkeitsdurchlässigen Pflaster versorgt. Die größte Menge der im Gewebe verbliebenen Tumeszenzlokalanästhesie fließt durch die Hautschnitte in den ersten Stunden direkt nach der OP ab und wird durch die Verbände unter dem Kompressionsmieder aufgefangen. Die restliche Flüssigkeitsmenge fließt innerhalb der nächsten 2-5 Tage ab. Das Kompressionsmieder muss für mindestens weitere 4 Wochen nach der OP getragen werden. Des Weiteren unterstützt die postoperative manuelle Lymphdrainage das Abfließen und reduziert die Schwellungsneigung.

Der Hauptgrund diese Methode für die Liposuktion beim Lipödem zu verwenden besteht darin, dass sie besonders schonend für die Lymphgefäße ist und somit der Lymphabfluss nach der OP weiterhin gewährleistet wird. Außerdem wird der Organismus nicht zusätzlich durch eine Vollnarkose belastet. Der Patient kann direkt nach der OP wieder aufstehen, so dass das Ergebnis im Stehen beurteilt werden kann. Im Stehen wird nicht nur durch den tiefgelegensten Einschnitt bereits Tumeszenzlösung beginnen abzufließen, sondern der Operateur kann die neue Körpersilhouette beurteilen und gegebenenfalls Korrekturen vornehmen. Bereits am nächsten Morgen kann man einen deutlichen Unterschied zum Ausgangsbefund feststellen (Abb.4).

29jährige Patientin am nächsten Morgen nach der Liposuktion der Oberschenkel außen, der Oberschenkel innen und der Knie innen29jährige Patientin am nächsten Morgen nach der Liposuktion der Oberschenkel außen, der Oberschenkel innen und der Knie innen
Abb. 4: 29-jährige Patientin am nächsten Morgen nach der Liposuktion der Oberschenkel außen, der Oberschenkel innen und der Knie innen

Aufgrund der nur sehr kleinen Einschnitte kommt es intraoperativ nur zu geringen Blutungen und wenig postoperativen Hämatomen. Durch den Wash-Out Effekt der TLA Lösung können kaum Bakterien eindringen und die Infektionsgefahr ist sehr gering. Auch ist durch die antithrombotische Wirkung der TLA und die sofortige postoperative Mobilisation das Thromboserisiko bei dieser Methode sehr reduziert. Zusammenfassend kann gesagt werden, dass bei dieser Methode die allgemeine Komplikationsrate sehr gering ist.

Seite teilen:

Die Seite arbeitet mit Shariff. Lesen Sie dazu auch die Datenschutz­bestimmungen.